Tags

I thought 2010 was a light year for talent, and then I visited the always great No Depression site, and there were 100s.  To be honest, the current literature has a significant contingent saying that alt country is dead.  I could not disagree more.  There is a lot of great music being made (even if I do, at this time think that the 1990s were the–so far–the height of alt country as a genre.

I have taken you all through the 1960s birth of alt country, through the Byrds, and then the 1970s Parsons era.  I exposed you to Jason and the Scorchers of the 1980s, as well as the bridge represented by Lone Justice, the Long Ryders, and the Cowboy Junkies.  Only the Junkies are still major players in the field, and the band has lots of cross over appeal.  The Golden Era of Alt Country awaits us–when I discovered many of the acts I will post via internet radio.  The internet was live then as well, so expect lots of links.

As it pertains to the recent 2010 list (20 years after the golden era), I tried to pick what I knew, and then searched and found many I somehow overlooked this year.  In no particular order, and with some fudging, here are my top 25. No Depression has now made a top 20 for 2010 with some variation. Happy 2011!

Drive By Truckers: 4th night of my Drinking

Tindersticks: Blacksmoke

Band of Horses: Laredo

Pavement: Frontwards

Trampled by Turtles: Wait so Long

Son Volt: Down to the Wire

Sadies: Postcards

Punch Brothers

Josh Ritter

Josh Ritter: Lantern:

The Gaslight Anthem: Even Cowgirls get the Blues

Tift Merritt:

Old 97’s:

Ryan Bingham: Junky Star

Phosphorescent: It’s Hard to be Humble

Crooked Still:

Darrell Scott:

Deer Tick: 20 Miles

Two Cow Garage:

Kim Richey (talking about Chuck Prophet!)

Mary Gauthier:

Mumford and Sons: Little Lion Man (language warning!)

Drive By Truckers: Workin’ this Job

Carolina Chocolate Drops – Genuine Negro Jig

Carolina Chocolate Drops – Hit em Up Style

* lyrics, videos, or anything else on this page do not represent endorsement.

