Tags

I am not sure I have ever had such a disagreement with the excellent Easy and Elegant Life, but there is always a first time.  Perhaps it is the small snowmageddon that is playing tricks on me and luring me into a false disagreement.  But, seriously, for GQ this is not a proper choice, and for reasons E&L partly notes in his post.

I think the crux is his claim that style and elegance can exist apart from each other.  I am not so sure.  Style is timeless; we ban the word fashion here.  But elegance is a way, or manner of style.

Take the pics that E&L uses in his post I linked (above).  Cary Grant and the Duke of Windsor are truly both elegant and stylish.  There is a sense of timelessness to each of their dress (and I would put the Duke near the Dandy end of elegance and style).

Cary Grant

Cary Grant (click to enlarge)

And:

Cary Grant (click to enlarge)

Cary Grant (click to enlarge)

The Duke:

The Duke of Windsor

The Duke of Windsor

I think the Duke is certainly sophisticated as a dresser, but he is also elegant.  Sure, the stripes and panels look a bit loud to us.  The manner he carries off the entire ensemble though is quite elegant.  The only odd thing is the way he wears the tie.  I would love to hear from people as to the apparent shortness of the tie with the tail obviously visible.  It does seem a bit odd, but I am sure I am missing something.

Dandyism, however, mentions elegance as a part of the Dandy look.  Note Tom Wolfe:

Tom Wolfe--Dandy?

Tom Wolfe--Dandy?

Why is the Duke (or Wolfe) more Dandy?  Perhaps the Kinks will help:

http://vimeo.com/moogaloop.swf?clip_id=2218587&server=vimeo.com&show_title=1&show_byline=1&show_portrait=0&color=&fullscreen=1

DANDY from I Dandy on Vimeo.

At any rate, I like E&L quite a bit, but I think we disagree on Depp, style, and elegance.

